Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-10-2010, 18:50   #1

Boat: in search of what I'll need
Did the Sailors Life Choose You, or You it ?

Captains/Skippers, I'm relatively new to sailing and still researching which kind of boat might suit me best... I'm seriously thinking about hopping aboard as a crewman with some of you to experience different types of vessels and sailing methods... but right now I'm very interested in hearing the stories of how y'all came to live your life on the sea... what experiences you've had that led you to learn this lifestyle. were you born into it? did you grow up around it? was it just a chance happening later on in life that you were drawn to it? what kinds of work have you done aboard ships that learned you these skills necessary to survive on the ocean? what opportunities should I be on the lookout for to help gain this experience before I invest hard earned money into an ocean going vessel should I find myself fortunate enough? I'd love to hear your stories. if you would rather respond via PM that's ok too... thank you and be well.
-Casey
masajista is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 19:10   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Now boatless :-(
Hi Casey and welcome to CF. Great topic!

Like many members I am not living aboard but am fortunate to have been positioned near the sea and it was a passion I always wanted to return to. I sailed as a kid on Australia's Pittwater and then life started...

I had a little angst when buying the boat as I wasn't really sure what I was getting into in terms of cost, time and maintenance. However it was a fear I should have never had.

Owning the boat and sailing every weekend has really balanced work and life and keeps the weekday grind in perspective.