Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-10-2011, 11:49   #1

Contemplating Liveaboard

Hey all,

Not to get into gory details, but I am in the middle of a divorce and am looking to become a liveaboard. The soon to be Ex is getting the house and primary custody of the boys, so I'm looking to move to Sunny FLA and buy a boat...

Now I've been snooping around here and other forums for a while, and seem to have a basic understanding of what to look for.... I've been looking for boats in the 30-35' range... Not too old, but not too new. I know that any boat I can afford is going to need work, But since I used to be an Amtrak Mechanic in the Marines (Floating tanks, not trains). I'm competent to wire a boat, rebuild a motor and do pretty much anything else... I figure if I can keep 26,000 pounds of tracked vehicle afloat, I should be able to keep a sailboat afloat! ;-)

So, I've been looking around, and have seen a ton of boats up on the "hard" and some are in need of a complete refit and some look like they are sound, but just need some work.... I've seen prices from $5k - $25k for mono-hulls that to me seem to be blue-water capable (I want to be able to transit to the Bahamas, Jamaica, PR...)

I'm assuming that just like a house you can be very careful, get a boat with "good bones", but some love into it and save yourself a ton of money. And since I don't mind some honest labor.... That's what I did with the house I'm currently loosing.

So... let me tell you what I've been looking for... What I've found and please help steer my search... TIA!