Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Life Aboard a Boat > Liveaboard's Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-08-2015, 12:43   #1

Choosing and buying the boat

I'm actively shopping for a liveaboard/cruising boat on a limited amount of money. I'm retired, single and on a fixed income so I don't need to work and can wander as I please. I just don't have a lot of cash available, five or six thousand to start with. I have few expenses so I would have money available to put into upgrading a boat and I would like to not borrow. I have extensive boating experience on diesel powerboats, both operating and maintaining/repairing. I have very little sailing experience and would be interested in some input regarding what boats might be good to consider. I'm looking in the 26 to 30ft range, I've spent quite a bit of time living in a small space offshore and this size range seems to me to offer adequate accommodation for one and still be relatively inexpensive. I don't mind mechanical repairs, no matter how extensive, including repower. I don't like outboards or gas engines and I own several small diesels that could use a home. What I don't want is fiberglass work, like replacing a cored deck or significant hull damage. I would like to do some rigging work so I could gain some experience, sails though should be in good shape. Well I'm rambling so I'll leave it there, I appreciate any suggestions. Thanks.
fish53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2015, 13:27   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Leopard 40 2009
Re: Choosing and buying the boat