Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Life Aboard a Boat > Liveaboard's Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-08-2012, 08:37   #1

Question Bringing my Jewelry Business Aboard

So I have a thread going in the Meet & Greet with a layout of who I am and what our goal is....but the Reader's Digest version is that my husband is currently Active Duty Coast Guard (13 yrs strong) and I'm a working jewelry designer at my own home based studio, selling online and through a sales rep to retailers.

We are considering ditching our shore ties for the liveaboard lifestyle.

I'm thinking aside from all the other "normal" challenges of such, the biggest hurdle personally speaking will be trying to figure out how to continue to do what I do on a smaller scale.

Has anyone ever encountered working artists living aboard or see micro-studios with a tiny workbench?

I don't even know if this is feasible...but I'm a metalsmith, so tools and precious metals are my main necessities. Oh, and a torch, but that's easily remedied with a portable, small MAPP canister. Fire hazards are a concern to me with that, but wondering what the thoughts are regarding this. If all else fails, I will convert my designs to using cold connections and scrap the soldering entirely.

Is there a better forum cat for me and this post?

Thank you!

~Danielle
JerseyMermaid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2012, 08:43   #2
Moderator... short for Cat Wrangler

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Cal 28 Flush Deck
Re: Bringing my Jewelry Business Aboard