Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-10-2007, 01:57   #1

Boat: Pearson 31-2
Avoiding hassle from USCG/water cops etc.

1. I am a resident of Arkansas right now, but I am selling my house and wish to buy a cruiser for liveaboard. At that time, I plan to become a resident of my boat and likely will never come to AR again. Would I be able to remain an AR resident and take advantage of very cheap registration fees or I am required to become a resident of another(coastal) state? Is it possible to be a resident of the US but not a resident of a state. That really sounds like a stupid question(even to me), but I'm curious. Also, are there any other countries like maybe Costa Rica or similar places where you can register your boat and have minimal hassle?

I suspect that I will spend time in many places, but will likely stick to florida and bahamas for the first year. After that, I don't plan on living anywhere for any length of time. I want to travel, but I want to be able to do it without being hassled or fined/jailed because of paperwork.

2. What is the best way to get a boat legal or quasi-legal without paying tons of fees? For instance, is there a state where I can register the boat, pay whatever is due, get a number or sticker or whatever is required, and then be done with it? Meaning no yearly fees or taxes on the boat.

3. What is the dif between registering in a state and doing it via the USCG? (cost, requirements, hassle) Is it easier to travel the world with the USCG option?

4. Does boat length come into play? I was looking to buy about a 35'er but then I read someones post that said his boat is under 30' so he doesn't have to worry about it. I got the impression that his boat is not required to be registered though it seems unlikely to me.