Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Life Aboard a Boat > Liveaboard's Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-03-2011, 13:44   #61

Boat: Island Packet 380
Re: A Defibrilator on Board ? Good Idea ?

I have to weigh in with all the rest of the medical folk on the board and say nope, I would not have an AED on board. I have been a cardiac critical care nurse for 25 years. Yes, I have seen many things, no, I don't think I am used to seeing too much death.

The bottom line for me and what hasn't been stated here is that a cardiac rhythm issue is mearly a symptom of a much bigger underlying condition in most cases. There are those who do have a primary rhythm issue (overall this is not the majority). So operating with the assumption that there is an underlying condition that is causing the symptom of the cardiac rhythm issue, the AED will only resolve the rhythm issue and not the underlying condition. As many of the medical folks here have hinted at, you will still not have a good outcome, unless the underlying condition is treated quickly and appropriately. Unfortunately, this still requires RAPID transportation to a competent level 1 treatment facility. Heck, you don't even need to be at the dock or within sight of the dock. The reality is that many people who are transported to rural or secondary facilities timely still don't have a good outcome becasue of lack of training, supplies or skills (and yes, these are hospitals in the United States)

So from my perspective, having an AED is a bit like putting a band-aid on a bleeding artery, if you don't fully treat the underlying condition with the appropriate facility in a timely manner what have we done to improve the situation?