Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-03-2012, 04:40   #1

North Carolina to Guatamala

I havesailing vessel to been asked to help move a sailing vessel from Beaufort NC to Guatamala with stops in Cuba and then to Belize.I have never done this before and was curious about leaving the KEYS and heading towards Cuba.Most people have said go through the bahamas ,but the owner says many people leave out of the Keys.
Comments appreciated.
BEENONLAND is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2012, 05:47   #2

Boat: Union Polaris 36
Re: North Carolina to Guatamala

Why not leave from the keys, but head through the windward passage, beacuse you'll be fighting the gulf stream the entire trip which wouldn't be too fun.

Life's a dream, live it!
youmeandthed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2012, 05:48   #3

Boat: Union Polaris 36

I meant if you went the western route

Life's a dream, live it!
youmeandthed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2012, 06:29   #4

Boat: Privilege 37

I'd be concerned about travel and commerce restriction between US and Cuba. An executive order signed in 2004, I believe, compells USCG to seize any boat with the capability and intent to go to Cuba from US waters.

If you're a non-US flagged boat, you could go to the Bahamas then I'd imagine, Cuba. If you're US flagged, your boat could be seized in any waters if your intent were to go to Cuba.
Strygaldwir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2012, 07:08   #5

Boat: Wildcat 35, Hobie 33

Quote:
Originally Posted by BEENONLAND View Post