Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-10-2012, 19:31   #1

Cruising Florida Panhandle

To all -
I am looking to plan a trip in May 2013 leaving from Fort Walton Beach, Florida and not sure whether to head East or West. Would be headed out in Catalina 31. Have anywhere from 1 week to 3 weeks and am looking for ideas on places to go and what things to expect. I have been to the area before and sailed around but not any lenghty trips. I have many years experience sailing and have another person coming along to sail with along with the possibility of 2 small children to join us. Please respond if you have any input as I am just starting to put this together and open to ideas. Thank you.
vdsgator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2012, 19:57   #2

Boat: Seawind 1000xl
Re: Cruising Florida Panhandle

May can get a little warm at times. I would go East on the inside towards Panama City and then bump outside at St. Andrews to St. George. and back inside. I am not sure if you are doing out and back or point to point. There is also a big difference between a 1 week and a 3 week trip. You have the option of staying on the hook the whole trip, docking at a marina, or even staying in a hotel after a day sail. Most kids, and grown ups as well, really love the white sugar sand beaches.
tomfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2012, 21:02   #3

Thanks for the reply. Probably going point to point with a few days at a couple of spots. Just wanting to get ideas of where to go and what costs may be as well. In regards to the weather, it most likely would be late April/ early May.
vdsgator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2012, 00:05   #4

Boat: Endeavour 37