Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-03-2011, 00:40   #1

Boat: CSY33
Cape May to Block Island

I am considering a cruise from the Chesapeake up to LI Sound, Newport, Mystic etc. Expect to leave/return from Cape May, although Cape Charles/Norfolk a possibility.

Expect to spend only a week up there before returning. Would like to keep location costs as low as possible. Any info on marina's, anchoring, mooring fields, up on the sound appreciated. Also issues of the offshore leg, such as currents, traffic, appreciated. I have no experience with LI Sound, so any suggestions for guides, or info from experience appreciated.

I have read a lot about the C&D, Delaware River already. It is the offshore and Sound I am interested in hearing about.

Thinking of late June to the end of July as possible sailing window for this trip.

Thanks
Trekka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2011, 00:50   #2

Boat: CSY33
Re: Cape May to Block Island

Found this site:

SOUNDBOUNDER
A Long Island Sound Coastal Access & Exploration Blog
Trekka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2011, 03:49   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trekka View Post
I am considering a cruise from the Chesapeake up to LI Sound, Newport, Mystic etc. Expect to leave/return from Cape May, although Cape Charles/Norfolk a possibility.

Expect to spend only a week up there before returning. Would like to keep location costs as low as possible. Any info on marina's, anchoring, mooring fields, up on the sound appreciated. Also issues of the offshore leg, such as currents, traffic, appreciated. I have no experience with LI Sound, so any suggestions for guides, or info from experience appreciated.

I have read a lot about the C&D, Delaware River already. It is the offshore and Sound I am interested in hearing about.