Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-02-2012, 13:50   #1

Boat: Pearson 365 Sloop and 9' Fatty Knees.
Which Type of Cruising Work ?

Although I have searched on the forum. My question is more specific. I am an Engineer/Machinist by trade. I have TIG welding skills. I also have an interest in canvas work. I figured for little investment, I could buy a "nice" walking foot machine and do canvas work and "minor" sail repair.
So my question is...How much request, while out cruising is there for a) Stainless Steel repair and b) for canvas and sail repair?
Also I realize the problem with doing this on the down low in a foreign country but I'm sure a little would go relatively undetected.
"Life is not a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well-preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming: Wow - what a ride!"
Celestialsailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2012, 14:50   #2
Ram

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Cat in the med & Trawler in Florida
Re: Which type of cruising work?

i think the trade you need is A/C refrigeration-
Ram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2012, 15:02   #3

Boat: Solaris Sunstar 36' catamaran

Quote:
Originally Posted by Celestialsailor View Post
----I realize the problem with doing this on the down low in a foreign country but I'm sure a little would go relatively undetected.
In my experience the locals usually know exactly what goes on in their harbors. Whether they do anything about it varies. Of course if you are welding something for the Capitan you will probably be golden, especially if you're the only welder around.
Old 20-02-2012, 17:27   #4

Boat: Wildcat 35, Hobie 33