I'd beware of the BOATUS web site, it looks like they sent out a form letter and didn't actually research
the laws. For example they say of New York
"Registration Grace Period (Days):
And that's true. What they have totally missed, is that NYS requires registration only for vessels that are in the navigable waters of NYS for more than 90 days in a row.
If you cross the bay to NJ or the Sound to LI, your 90 days starts anew. If you haul the boat out of the water
the bottom, your 90 days starts anew.
That's in direct contrast to some states like Florida
, where the clock counts how many days you are in the state during one year. No restarts and IIRC hauling isn't counted either. (Could be one calendar year or simply 365 days, I don't recall
So BOATUS...a good start, like the SC note of a maximum tax of $300. Although I didn't see any note there that annual personal property tax would also accrue. (Ah, Caesar. Any Caesar, every Caesar, they all get their due, one way or another.)
But someone at BOATUS needs to go on the web and do a little more research to fill in the blanks.