Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-01-2016, 15:07   #1

Sunken balsa cored sailboat

Hello everyone my name is George I am basically new to sailing forum I am really excited to be on the site. I am currently looking to buy or 30 foot sunken vessel with Balsa core can anyone tell me if this is a wise investment or not.
islandbowy1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-01-2016, 15:11   #2

Boat: 1981 Ta Tong Cape Horn Cutter
Send a message via Skype™ to gts1544
Re: sunken balsa cored sailboat i

Probably not! There are way too many issues that would have to be dealt with. If you are looking for a cheap fixer upper, there are hundreds around afloat! George
gts1544 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-01-2016, 15:47   #3

Boat: Ohlson 29

Welcome to CF!

Quote:
Originally Posted by islandbowy1978 View Post
30 foot sunken vessel with Balsa core
Define 'sunken' please?
Has the boat been under for a longer period, or is it afloat bit with water inside ...
Different people mean different things sometimes

But as gts1544 said: probably not ...
Usually fixer upper means ending up with a boat exactly to your liking, but only after spending twice as much $ on it as a similar boat in ready-to-go condition would have cost
Old 18-01-2016, 07:03   #4

Thank you guys for the speedy response,
So I was running out of time as it was an auction paid a bit more for the boat than I would like but still feels like a good deal as I really live the layout style look of the boat.
The bad took owner ship nothing works that I kinda expected as it was under water.the wood cabinets etc looks awesome no delamination.
I am going to do the electric work my self and all wood finishing.
I will attempt the engine repair as I understand how they work but if it gets overwhelming will seek help.
For now I am excited I will see what happens next.
Old 24-01-2016, 06:30   #5