Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-03-2007, 14:00   #1

Seller Financing?

Just wondering if seller financing is ever done at all? Has anyone out there accomplished this?

Is there any way a buyer could assure a seller that the payment will be there or they get the boat back, etc?

Ken

Like a moth to a flame, I am drawn to the sea.
kenackr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2007, 14:07   #2

Boat: Marine Trader 34DC
Ken, As a former broker I can tell you that it is done all of the time. I do caution anyone that is considering this to do a thorough check of the background and credit of the potential buyer. Once that is satisfied, draw up a legal and binding contract including the specific terms of payment, penalties and relief for the seller should the buyer fail to perform. Depending on the amount the seller is going to carry it might not be a bad idea to have legal council draw up the contract. be sure all signatures are witnessed and notarized. Many times with older boats where financing is hard to find this can be a good alternative. But it can also be full of problems if not executed properly.

The Trawler Beach House
Voyages Of Sea Trek
AnchorageGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2007, 15:29   #3
Moderator Emeritus

Boat: Gozzard 36
Send a message via Skype™ to Pblais
If the boat is large enough to be US Documented it's best to have the boat documented so you can establish the title along with your contract. If it is not big enough to document then seller financing is a poor idea. State boat registrations are a joke when it comes down to dealing with multiple states. You don't need that hassle.

US documentation makes it a lot easier to track the owner/boat down and clearly prevents the boat being re sold without you knowing it and not legal without clearing your loan from the title filed with the USCG. Any professional lender will do this so a private party would be wise to do like they do.