Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Life Aboard a Boat > Boat Ownership & Making a Living
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-09-2008, 16:27   #1

Boat: Harbor 20, Seawind 1370 (2024)
remote skilled work & "The 4hr Workweek"

I keep an eye on this forum as I hope to join the ranks of the working cruisers one day. Currently I'm a manager at a software company, so doing that remotely is not an option.

It seems like a lot of the discussion is around work for other cruisers or boat related skills. I'd be interested in a discussion about the generic issues regardless of what product or service you offer, e.g. communication with customers, connectivity, maintaining relationships, responding to sagging demand, getting new business, etc.

While it sounds like Amazon's "Mechanical Turk"Amazon Mechanical Turk is paying 3rd world wages, I wonder if there are other marketplaces for a higher level of skilled work that can be done remotely?

Also I recently picked up the book "The 4 hour workweek", The 4-Hour Workweek and Timothy Ferriss while I doubt anyone living aboard has too much trouble with pointless meetings, excessive emails and phone calls, etc. He does have a section in there about setting up a business targeted at moderate income with as much outsourced as possible and has examples of remote management of niche businesses. Of course actually earning a living in 4 hours/week is an extreme example to get your to target your work and understand your value add.
Mark424 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-2008, 17:17   #2

I'm also a software manager! Huzzah!

If we were super smart about it, and my team had only a-team people on it, we could easily do everything in a four hour work week. The problem is that the b-team'rs will still be screwing off two out of the four hours, making the system look bad.