Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-05-2019, 22:20   #1

Refrigeration Tech

I’m working on my plan to live off a boat in the Caribbean in the next few years. I'm a refrigeration tech with years of experience. Would that be a good way to sail and survive?
Mwoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2019, 22:44   #2

Boat: Transpac 49
Re: Refrigeration Tech

Not sure about in the Caribbean, but many countries have strict working visa arrangements. In Oz, you'd also need to be licenced by a Govt Authority for handling refrigerants...do lots of research, ask locals and proceed with utmost caution.
Old 26-05-2019, 23:38   #3

Boat: CT 56
Send a message via Skype™ to undercutter

Don't go by Australia, they think the same as Europeans. And even there I have run into quite a few guys working under the table. He is right about refrigerant gases being hard to get but there a still a few that will sell you a bottle for spare. Everywhere else in the world you can buy R134-A at the local garage.
undercutter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-05-2019, 04:03   #4
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)

Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, Mwoody.

It can be difficult to make money, when cruising, but refrigeration & electrical are probably the 2 trades most in demand, by other cruisers (you best, safest customers).

See ➥ http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/...ist-37982.html

GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-05-2019, 06:15   #5
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Island Packet 38
Refrigeration Tech

Quote:
Originally Posted by TassieBloke View Post
Not sure about in the Caribbean, but many countries have strict working visa arrangements. In Oz, you'd also need to be licenced by a Govt Authority for handling refrigerants...do lots of research, ask locals and proceed with utmost caution.