Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-06-2011, 23:15   #1

Boat: in between boats
Ready for a new life

Ok, I need a new life. Left ocean 10 yrs ago and can't wait any longer to return. I have enough money to buy something like a Catalina 36 in the mid eighties year range in decent shape with around 20k left over. I have plenty of coastal experience, not recent enough to qualify for capt. license. Plan on getting experience as owner operator on my own boat for enough hours to qualify to take captains test or take a course to help. No residual income, in my mid fifties, healthy. Interested in offering intro sailing courses, sunset sails, day sails and adventure sails around west coast and channel islands. Surfing, snorkeling, kayaking etc. Also with Americas Cup coming to San Fran, would spend time there offering same and front and center spectator sailing for trials and races. I plan to market via internet and not really have home port, but sail around west coast from SF to San Diego. If home port is better for business, San Diego would be first choice, then either Channel Islands/Ventura area or SF. I love San Francisco. Am I delusional to think I could cover boat expenses, including maintenance, insurance and repairs and keep myself fed and clothed with enough left over for beer and wine and new bicycle tires once in a while? Not looking to get rich, just to live a simple life I enjoy. I have plenty of "people" experience and realize the eccentrics and expectations that goes with service industries. Is everyone out there trying the same thing? Are there those who actually are making it this way? Or again I ask, am I delusional? I just don't know how much longer I can keep on keeping on in my currrent existance. I would not hesitate if I were twenty years younger or the job market on the west coast wasn't as bleak as the media reports. A job some where on west coast near enough to a marina to live aboard, marina bound, is