Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-06-2016, 06:29   #1

Boat: Ranger 29 tug, C&C 34/36
OK, so I'm a newbie, but...

I have been running AIRBNB in my house for about a year now and make about $1,200 a month. What does the community think about 'boatbnb'? If you have a boat large enough to provide amenities for a guest, what could you charge?

Being VERY close to NYC (1 mile away and next to the ferry) where a hotel room is $250+ a night, could this be something people want?

Alan
2savage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2016, 06:42   #2

Boat: 97 Hunter 430 43 ft.
Re: OK, so I'm a newbie, but...

Theres alot of boats on there. Prices vary greatly on location, season, and boat
Tkeeth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2016, 07:08   #3

Boat: a sailing boat

I would give it a shot. How much do you lose if it does not stick, how much do you gain if it does?

Explore and conquer. Who knows what the next big thing is.

Cheers,
b.
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2016, 07:11   #4

Boat: Ranger 29 tug, C&C 34/36

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tkeeth View Post
Theres alot of boats on there. Prices vary greatly on location, season, and boat
Agree totally. We're talking 50+ foot, private cabin/head, very well maintained. Your thoughts?
2savage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2016, 07:42   #5

Boat: Kadey Krogen 38

Your standard insurance probably would not cover losses. You would need special coverage which is not cheap.
KadeyKrogen38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2016, 07:42   #6

Boat: Norseman 447
Send a message via Skype™ to Dartanyon

We boatbnb'd our previous boat, a Baba 30, for nearly a year, here in Seattle. Rented nearly every night that we wanted it to be. I'd block out the days around when I'd want to sail, but it does take the opportunity to spontaneously leave the dock off the table.