Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-01-2014, 23:53   #1

My first boat ... a Jeanneau 50?

Hello all,

This is my first post as a member. I want to purchase a Jeanneau 50. I can afford the boat, but I'm clueless as to what the real cost is for a boat that size. I have basically zero boat experience. I fly jets for a living, so some of that translates well. I was already denied coverage by one company. I plan on getting my Coast Guard's license. I believe that will help. With basically no boat owner ship history, will I be able to find coverage? I have a few other questions.

1. How often do sails need to be replaced? Is the in-mast a huge advantage?
2. Steel or composite or glass?
3. How often does the boat need to be lifted and painted?
4. I plan on cruising both coasts. What type of a budget should I plan for expenses other than provisions and slip fees?
5. The boat will stay at the Marina while I go back and forth to work, so what kind of concerns should I have for a boat being unattended for extended periods.
6. What type of security systems are out there?
7. What is the preferred method of communication? HF, satellite when making a crossing or being out of sight of land. I know this is a lot, but any help is appreciated.

I have a ton more questions ... I know I should probably take a course prior to getting the captain's license. As you can all tell, I'm totally clueless. I have only sailed on other people's boats a few times.

Joe

PS I've had a few to drink, so please forgive my lack of sentence structure and all errors.
Southerncowboyz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2014, 23:59   #2

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Endeavour 35, 1984,
Get some sailing courses first
Then start chartering sailboats
Start with something smaller than a 50
You dońt need a Coast gard license, you need experience
Have fun
Old 10-01-2014, 00:06   #3

Community Sponsor
Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Jeanneau Sun Fast 40.3