Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-12-2009, 03:46   #1

My Dreams

Hello all, this is my first post, seems like a great and knowledgeable board

I have a dream, I would like to live on a yacht and perhaps one day sail around the world.

I'm 31 a house owner and a single guy, most of my life i have been fascinated with the sea and boats. I have been to sea a few times on various craft and would just love to move my life on to the water permanently.

I would like to sell my house and free up the 15k equity and invest this in a 25 foot ish sailing boat and moor this at a marina in the south west somewhere.

I have no sailing experience or navigational skills, so is this something that i could learn on some kind of training course ?

What are the costs of monthly living in a sailing boat moored at a marina and realistically is this something i could do long term ?

thanks in advance, and please hit me with the fact as If my bubble needs bursting and i am a little delusional please dont be afraid to tell me
sanctuaryseeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2009, 03:58   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Now boatless :-(
Hi sanctuary and welcome to CF. If you click the "google" search link below my signature and type "living aboard costs" you will likely get a lot of hits and have much to read. Your question is not uncommon.

Bottom line comment is that you will not save much money if any living aboard at a Marina and in fact depending on the boat and where you live now the costs could be higher.
Ex-Calif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2009, 04:05   #3

Boat: Boatless
All is possible but it is twice as hard and three times as expensive as you might imagine but then it is worth all the effort. $15K should get you a servicable 30-35 ft boat which is much more livable.