Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-07-2013, 17:50   #1

MY 1st post and some Questions!

Hello all,
This is my 1st post here. I am in the planning/saving money stage but hopefully within the year my wife and I will set off. Here is my 1st question or 3!

Background: We are hoping to buy a boat for fairly cheap <$6k, spend 1-6mo living aboard while getting everything ship-shape (4k) then sail off for 1 year to see how we like it and see if we want to re-up for longer. I have limited sailing experience as a child, however have lived out of a truck/trailer for extended periods of time on rock climbing trips so I have some experience living off the grid.

Where (city/state/area) do you consider the best place to purchase a boat? Why? I currently live in a landlocked state so I will have to travel to wherever I am buying the boat.

Would it make it more affordable to buy in US then sail to Mexico to do the repairs?

What do you think is the best time of year to buy the boat? Specific time when more are for sale=lower prices, avoid hurricane season, ect...

Where do YOU think is the best place to begin cruising and why? Atlantic/gulf/Caribbean? Pacific Coast of Mexico/gulf of california?

Why: Lack of red tape? Ease of navigation? Community to learn from? Good/non-dangerous weather? low cost of food/supplies?

Any good resources for getting started?
Thanks!
Captain_Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 18:10   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Pearson 422
Re: MY 1st post and some Questions!

Few answers and comments, in no particular order.

East coast, not west coast. Why?

- easier sailing
- cheaper dock space
- more marinas
- more harbors
- more places to anchor
- more places to sail

$6K is a pretty small budget. Of course anyone can get lucky but probably have to target a boat under 30'