Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 04-03-2012, 17:20   #376

Boat: Columbia 29 MKI Hull #13
Re: Make Money While Cruising - List

I was a Jeweler for 25 years and am refitting my Columbia C29 for a extended cruise. While refitting the cabin I am removing the V berth and building in a jewelers bench or "shop" if you will.
In the shop I will be able to paint designs,"watercolors of course" carve waxes, invest, casting "to be done on the bow", size rings, fabricate rings, set stones and clean and polish jewelry.
Everything that a Jeweler should be able to do. Just on a sailboat!
Ripples is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 19:44   #377
Eternal Member

Boat: 30' William Atkin cutter
Send a message via ICQ to wolfenzee

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ripples View Post
I was a Jeweler for 25 years and am refitting my Columbia C29 for a extended cruise. While refitting the cabin I am removing the V berth and building in a jewelers bench or "shop" if you will.
In the shop I will be able to paint designs,"watercolors of course" carve waxes, invest, casting "to be done on the bow", size rings, fabricate rings, set stones and clean and polish jewelry.
Everything that a Jeweler should be able to do. Just on a sailboat!
I plan to put all the woodworking skills I learned while rebuilding my boat's interior to work.
My boat was originally designed to have a workbench in the forward cabin, I have a band saw,table saw, routing table, drill press and will end up with a fairly complete wood shop...with the woodwork in my boat as a show case. The bunk in the main cabin fits two, but for when I have a crew that wants a private bunk, the work bench will convert.
Old 04-03-2012, 20:29   #378
Marine Service Provider

Boat: 365 Dean Catamaran

I guess selling your skills and that what you can make with your hands is one way but challenging countries laws and bylaws can be a real bummer!