Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 03-05-2013, 08:35   #556

Boat: MacGregor 25', Columbia 26 Classic
Re: Make Money While Cruising - List

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rhapsody-NS27 View Post
Just wait until people adapt to colder climates, You'll see more up that way.
No kidding.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rhapsody-NS27 View Post
This is an interesting thread. I've been thinking of what kind of work I'm going to do when I retire from current employment. Can't stand office work but I'm sure I can find something a bit more active.
I'm an x-ray tech/software trainer by day and a closet welder, sail repair/ canvas worker, wire rigger, woodworker/finisher, self taught diesel/gas mechanic, self taught refrigeration technician and computer/UROV builder at night.

I don't think there will be much call for my day job while I'm cruising but one or more of the night ones might pan out.
frank_f is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 08:46   #557

Boat: Junk rig Schooner

The guy who sails around on Nuthin Wong makes his living recruiting paying crew, by posting notices in local backpacker hostels. Somedays conducts day trips for tourist, until he's arrested by the local constabulary... as described in his book. Its a fun story.
Capt Rottnest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 08:51   #558

Boat: Searunner 40 trimaran, WILDERNESS

Anyone that is truly gifted with the skills of refrigeration repair, outboard motor repair or electrical/electronics repair will never suffer for customers, or experience real competition.
Roy M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 15:00   #559

Boat: WTB Lagoon or Leopard 38'-40'

Quote:
Originally Posted by frank_f View Post
It would be interesting to hear from people who are actually out there making a living as they go.
I have a saying - no matter how desperate you are for a job, there is an Indian who is more desperate.