Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-05-2017, 11:28   #1

Boat: Kenner Privateer 26
IT on the high seas?

Hows it going, I'm seriously trying to make an effort to live off shore or at the very least on my boat in a slip. I know people make money off their skillsets, be it engines, carpentry, or some other sort of trade, maybe a charter or two. Im wondering if I can make money and travel with my skill set of IT, Im not a programmer, I'm more along the lines of a helpdesk , break /fix software and hardware guy, also familiar with small business IT consulting. So my question is , is there a market for this ? Would I be able to eventually use this skill outside the US? Or what type of skillsets should I look into as an alternative?
Wind459 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2017, 11:31   #2

Re: IT on the high seas?

You will find it difficult collecting money for consulting outside of the US. You will find it difficult to collect a salary outside of the US. You will find it difficult competing with locals outside of the US.
Shrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2017, 11:58   #3

Boat: a sailing boat

What languages do you speak?

b.
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2017, 15:16   #4
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: FP Belize Maestro 43 and OPBs

Very doubtful.

Helpdesk = full time internet connection.
Break/fix software (non-programming, so I assume you mean installation problems) and hardware = physical presence.
Small business consulting = on site analysis, lots of talking with users etc.

None of which goes well with remote working from a boat.

The only people who make remote IT services work are the ones who don't need such regular/constant contact with their clients - i.e. programmer/developers, web developers, CAD/Graphic designers etc.