Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-02-2014, 11:59   #1

First Boat for Young Family of 4 New to Sailing

Hi all, first post here. I've been lurking for a while and found a ton of information on this site, thanks much.

I've grown up on the water (fishing, boating), but I'm new to sailing, sailed about twice a week last season on catalina 22's and became ASA certified. I'm planning to take some more courses this summer.

I have a young family - wife and 2 boys ages 3 and 5. I've taken everyone sailing last summer on the catalina 22 a few times and we had a great time.

I'd like to take the plunge and buy our first boat early this Spring and so I've been keeping a close eye on boats around Washington DC / Richmond area.

I'm looking for something that my family and I can take out on weekends. At first just for the day, and as we get more comfortable maybe multiple day sails.

I'd like to keep the cost of the boat around 10K. After looking at what's available over the past few weeks, it seems like that should get us something in the 27-30 ft range.

At this point, we're more interested in family relaxation, and less interested in racing.

I'm sure I'm at the point where I can't know what I don't know! But I figure the best way to learn is to dive in! I think I'm going to start looking at some boats this weekend. I might go and look at a 1979 Ericson 29 (advertised for $11k) and 1994 Macgregor 26s (advertised for $10K)

Any suggestions and general advice for boats that might be a good fit are welcome!

Thanks,
Dave
upgradingdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 13:01   #2

Boat: Hunter 450
Re: First Boat for Young Family of 4 New to Sailing

How about this Catalina 27? Looks to be about 350 nm away.

http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/...6k-120097.html
engine1218 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 13:14   #3

Boat: William Garden 28’ Gaffer

Welcome!