Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Old 02-02-2016, 05:57   #1

Diesel Mechanic School

Living aboard and cruising is still somewhat a twinkle in my eye as I'm still learning to sail. I've done some day sails and one overnight trip on a sailboat.

I am thinking of going back to school to be a marine diesel mechanic, specifically I'm looking at Cape Fear Community College in Wilmington, NC.

CFCC Diesel Mechanic

After reading quite a few blogs then discovering this forum I seem to hear that knowing such a skill would be handy for my personal boat as well as a way to earn some income either abroad or when at a fixed location. It's also important to note that this would be career that I would enjoy as I enjoy working with my hands.

What are everyone's thoughts on this career as a good way to sustain cruising?

Old 02-02-2016, 10:54   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: previous - Whitby 42 new - Goldenwave 44
Re: Diesel Mechanic School

I worked at a boatyard which specialized in diesel work but we did the full range of services. I was an electrician. My opinion (and that's all it is) is that you need to get experience with a wide range of motors and installations to be a "good enough" mechanic to work on others diesels. To do that you probably need at least a couple of years, or more, working with more experienced mechanics as a trainee.

You would certainly be somewhat of a help with those in need in remote locations but you would quickly find that you will be stumped by a variety of issues that are brand specific and installation specific, not to mention the huge variety of gremlins that can cause problems on boats.