Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Old 18-06-2012, 16:07   #1

Are electricians in demand among cruisers?

I'm an electrician who dreams to cruise fulltime in the future (3-5yrs.) Is there a high demand for skilled electricians in the cruising areas of the world? I remember reading in There Be No Monsters that the author knew of few boats that didn't have some kind of electrical problem. That book is dated but it seems to me that electrical systems are only becoming more prevalent.

What is your experience? Could I reasonably expect to make a living at sea this way? Should I hone my DC skills? (will actually do this anyway to maintain my own systems)

Old 19-06-2012, 11:28   #2

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Location: Yemen & Lebanon... the sailboat is in Lebenon, the dhow is in Yemen
Boat: 1978 CT48 & 65ft Cargo Dhow
Re: Are electricians in demand among cruisers?

I would say that yes there would be a demand but household and conventional dc systems vary from marine systems......welcome to the forum.

James S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-06-2012, 17:24   #3

Yeah I'm sure thats so...marine systems are likely a specialty, like generators. Thats good though because the will be a selection of professional literature to guide me. I don't expect to pick it up overnight, I just wanted to get opinions on how realistic the prospects are. I'll buy my boat next year and rebuild the elec. sys. then help others on their boats gratis till I feel competent too charge ppl...elec. is like any trade, one can read all he likes but u only learn by doing.
Old 19-06-2012, 17:50   #4
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: research vessel