Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-03-2014, 20:27   #1

Boat: Pearsnon, 422, 42 feet
A Full Keel Blue Water Cruiser Worthy of Living Aboard

Okay here we go, be gentle folks I'm new at all this and I know that I don't know and that's why I'm here!

I'm retired and my wife and I are ready for a real change of pace. For the last couple of years we have been researching the live-aboard lifestyle and what it would take to brake the bonds that constrain us to land and truly live a sailing life. We are not interested in sitting next to the dock and just existing on a sailboat, we want to be able to travel and take our home with us. We intend to, as Annie Hill puts it, "Voyage in our little ship"!

That brings me to why I'm here writing this post. For several months now I have been on a preliminary search for our new floating oasis. I have determined through both research and conversation that the best type of sailboat for us would be a full keeled, heavy displacement boat in the 39 to 42 foot range.

Here's the rub, in my scouring of the internet local marinas, and some not so local, I continue to run into the proverbial, this boat is as good as a full keel boat without the downsides etc, or the you don't really need a full keel when a fin will do just as well. I have also discovered that many a craft may have 45 feet on deck, but when you get below they are considerably lacking, like 32 feet at the water line. No thanks!