Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-06-2008, 05:41   #1
Marine Service Provider

Boat: Endeavour 42CC
lower Detroit River

Suggestions on what channel to take in the lower river. The Livingston channel looks a bit tight if you were to get passed by a freighter. Am I being overly cautious?
gettinthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2008, 08:32   #2

Boat: g-cat 5. m
hello, I could not begin to tell you witch way to go but hopefully this would help others with your question.
Google Maps
courageous cat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2008, 09:43   #3

Boat: Beneteau 36
Gettinthere :

Are you asking about coming up river (to Lake St Clair) or down river (from Lake St Clair to Lake Erie) ?

I've been making that trip for too many years !!
Paul Ouellette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2008, 04:15   #4

Like Paul said, up or down? The LC is a downbound channel. It's a little tight but not bad when next to a freighter.
Joli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2008, 05:03   #5
Marine Service Provider

Both ways. I'll be heading down to Lake Erie and then returning to Lake St Clair.

I'm familiar with the direction of each channel & have run them in a small power boat. But that ran at 35k and could easily outrun any freighter coming from behind. At 5 or 6k, I'll easily be overtaken by freighters.

Maybe I should put up my sails so I have right of way!!!
Old 01-07-2008, 07:35   #6

Boat: Beneteau 36
Gettinthere :

OK..here's what to do...

First of all, keep in mind you have a current running that's between 2-3 knots right along side Amhurstburg...yes, the current in the rest of the river is not quite that fast, but right there it narrows a bit & so the water moves a bit faster...

Anyway, when you're heading down-bound just follow the Livingston channel (we call it "the tube") out to Lake Erie like the freighters do. I've been passed by freighters in there many times & you'll have no problem.