Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-06-2013, 11:23   #1

First Great Lakes Trip

Having just bought a boat located in Bayfield Wi on Lake Superior, I am planning to sail her across the Great Lakes in early July to Buffalo, NY, have the stick pulled and then through the Erie Canal and down the Hudson, destination Norwalk, Ct on the Long Island Sound.

I have many years experience aboard all types of boats, mostly around LI Sound, Block Island Sound, etc. Am looking for any words of wisdom/things I might not be thinking about, but should.

Many thanks.
diapason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 11:45   #2

Boat: Rafiki 37
Re: First Great Lakes Trip

Hi diapason, congrats on the new boat. What is it? We purchased our current boat from La Pointe, WI -- just across from Bayfield.

Is this a delivery, or are you wanting to explore? If the former, there's some amazing places along the north and eastern shores of Lake Superior (which is my prime cruising grounds). Happy to share some of my favourites. The North Channel is also a great place to dally, as is Georgian Bay.
Old 07-06-2013, 13:05   #3

Mike,

Many thanks. She's a Tayana. I sailed past La Pointe last August a few times while I was aboard with the previous owner (on the way to Stockton Island and back, and while going between Madeline and Long Islands) . You've got some beautiful cruising grounds.Would love to explore, but, unfortunately, it's a delivery and I'll need to make it a quick trip back. I have a week to get to Buffalo.
Old 07-06-2013, 16:01   #4

Ah ... too bad. You'll have to plan to come back up our way. Your new boat is meant for the big water. It would do well on Superior.