Old 21-12-2014, 23:15   #16
Hull Diver

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Location: Under a boat, in a marina, in the San Francisco Bay
Re: Foldable Max prop

Quote:
Originally Posted by ErikFinn View Post
Actually Sir, not entirely accurate.
The early ones had to be completely diassembled to change the pitch settings, x and y, "Classic" I believe the model designator was, from late 1980's abouts. There is a write up somewhere in this forum by me, so been there, dunnit.
Furthermore, these early ones did not have the grease nipples either, they were added in early 1990s, so for greasing, the boat had to be hauled out and prop disassembled. In this respect the newer ones are so much much more user friendly.
I am a PYI-recommended Max Prop installer. I have been performing underwater installations and repitches of Max Props for many years. It is my job. So when I tell you that the procedure for repitching a 20-year-old Classic is identical to the procedure for repitching a Classic that was sold yesterday, you can take that to the bank.

Yes, various Max Prop models have undergone small modifications and yes, new models have been added to the Max Prop lineup over the years. Some of these newer models have external pitch adjustments that do not require any disassembly of the prop. But that's not the point. The OP was asked if his Max Prop could have its pitch adjusted underwater. The answer is (again), that any Max Prop model can have its pitch adjusted underwater. And the procedure for doing this for any particular model has never changed.
Old 22-12-2014, 04:46   #17
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Island Packet 38

I think this is one of those, once you have a bunch of experience doing it, then yes you could do it underwater. I've only assisted with it once, on land. It seemed to me that we were trying to de-cipher a code what with the lining up letters and all.