Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Life Aboard a Boat > Fishing, Recreation & Fun
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-07-2014, 06:57   #1

Boat: 48' steel cutter
U/W dive plane video in the Abacos

I recently spent a few months on my 48' steel cutter in the Abacos, based mostly out of Marsh Harbour. One of my friends flew in with a GoPro camera, and I was finally able to capture underwater video of some swimmers on dive planes. I've been refining this concept for a couple of decades now, but this is the first video of my "balanced dive planes" in action.

Put your YouTube settings to 720pHD, and wait for the under 5-minute video to load so that is runs smoothly.

The optimal towing speed is 3.5 to 4 knots. This is easily achieved with your autopilot. Typically we go dive planing when the wind is so light that we are ready to switch to the engine. It's best in warm, clear, calm water, so the Sea of Abaco was perfect, with its 12-15' average depths. Often we'll roll up the jib and go dive planing under main alone until everybody has spent a half hour or so in the water. It's a blast, the water rushing over your body must be experienced. Even at 4 knots, you get a "ground rush" when skimming over the bottom.

Matt Bracken / Travis McGee

Travis McGee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 08:09   #2

Boat: Caliber 40 LRC
Re: U/W dive plane video in the Abacos

Very cool Matt.
Red Sky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 08:59   #3

Anybody who ever sails in warm, clear water really needs one of these.
Old 01-07-2014, 09:24   #4

Boat: Caliber 40 LRC