Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-02-2013, 23:49   #1

Scuba Charter from SailBoat?

Hello all,I am new to your fine community and have been quite entertained browsing through the forum. I am a new sailor, a wet foot, but hooked and looking to buy a boat in the next year or so. So a couple things to discuss:
First) its intended final purpose will be global circumnavigation for my girlfriend and I, ill mostly be singlehandling, and once at destinations, to keep "afloat," I would like to...
Second)...dive charter! So I've already started my research and have decided +/- 40' is a must (4-6 happy customers) probably just a sloop, needs a dive/swim platform for ease of entry in North Pacific waters (bulky dry suits and heavy weighting) so this causes some confliction in what to start looking at purchasing. Looking for <$50,000 sail away. Remember accommodations for 7-8 total. 70's-80's is fine
Third) can I just scoop up customers and take them out and charge professional rate (certified PADI specialty instructor in victoria bc, huuuuuge client base for diving) and not need to worry about insurance and licensing? It would be like taking out friends and going diving but they would be "fare-paying passengers" in real life and I don't desire to be above the law, staying out of trouble so I have a future in sailing/diving is a must.
Fourth) what do you guys suggest? Have in mind? Any info or comments will probably be appreciated, content-specific