Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-10-2012, 11:29   #46
Armchair Bucketeer

Re: Pretention or culture?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rebel heart View Post
Yep.

Big difference between saying "I work as a captain" and "Hi, I'm Captain Eric."
I can understand why someone would use the name "Captain Eric" (if their name was Eric!) as part of marketing, if it worked (I can see how it would help with many of the Punters - if only for reassurance / a simple way of telling them "you do WTF I say - for your own safety" ). Hell, I would use the name Lord High Admiral if it made me a buck .
David_Old_Jersey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 11:55   #47

Boat: Bluewater 420 CC

And for the other point of view, when flying, I'm always reassured when the guy down the front introduces himself as "captain".
Old 01-10-2012, 12:06   #48

Location: Northern British Columbia, part of the time in Prince Rupert and part of the time on Moresby Island.
Boat: 50-ft steel Ketch
Send a message via MSN to Astrid Send a message via Yahoo to Astrid

Quote:
Hell, I would use the name Lord High Admiral if it made me a buck .
I think you should use First Sea Lord.
Old 01-10-2012, 12:13   #49

Location: Northern British Columbia, part of the time in Prince Rupert and part of the time on Moresby Island.
Boat: 50-ft steel Ketch
Send a message via MSN to Astrid Send a message via Yahoo to Astrid

Quote:
And for the other point of view, when flying, I'm always reassured when the guy down the front introduces himself as "captain".
and by the fact that he or she has earned the stripes on the shoulder boards or the piston rings on the jacket cuffs.
Old 01-10-2012, 12:29   #50
cruiser

Boat: Hunter 31'

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbianka View Post