Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Old 03-09-2014, 16:37   #1
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Kitesurfing

Anyone do it? I've been thinking about giving it a try.

Looking for advice regarding brands of kites and boards suitable for beginners.

Anyone selling their gear cheap in Qld would be handy too....

Old 03-09-2014, 17:29   #2

Re: Kitesurfing

I have been kiting for about 12 years, shortly after the sport started. The sport has a bit of a learning curve and takes time on the water to get proficient and safe. You should definitely get professional lessons so you don't seriously injure yourself. Get lessons before you rush out buying equipment. You should budget about $2-3k to get everything (used). You will ultimately need at least two kites, probably a 11 meter kite and a 14 meter kite, that will give you the capability to ride in a wide range of winds (12-25 kts). Cabrinha is the an excellent brand of kites and boards, you don't want to skimp on quality, like a good sail. You can get by with one board initially...a twin tip. Let me know if you have more questions.

Old 04-09-2014, 13:48   #3

Boat: Sold our Gemini 105M , lookin' for a new cat...

I agree 100% with DMAC, kiteboarding isn't a sport to just buy the gear and "give it a go". I windsurfed for 20 years, started kiting about 7 years ago. Get professional instruction, and to really make it worthwhile, go somewhere with warm, shallow water. The Outer Banks of North Carolina are a terrific area to visit and learn to kite. If you really want to start on the right foot, buy yourself a 2m trainer foil (check out Real Watersports). This will teach you the basics of flying a kite, wind window, etc... You have to learn to fly the kite before you can even think about putting aboard under your feet. Good luck.
Old 04-09-2014, 14:29   #4

The above 2 posts are absolutely correct.

www.cat5kiteboarding.com
Old 04-09-2014, 14:34   #5
Eternal Member

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Lagoon 400