Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Life Aboard a Boat > Fishing, Recreation & Fun
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-03-2015, 12:51   #1

Boat: St Francis 48Turbo
Dinghy Security - Thoughts please

Hi All,
I'm quite new to this forum but once I had my dream dashed by forum members I'm having to learn to live with a dinghy... Now here's where I am hoping all you folks have enough years and miles in the bag to give some good ideas/thought on the following:

How do you think most dinghy's are stolen? What do you think is a good way of avoiding such thefts? .. now I have my own thoughts but as a relative newbie I'm probably way off the mark.

My impression (and please correct if necessary) is that you drop ashore, tie off said dinghy and someone sees (or is told of) a nice dinghy that with a minimal amount of hotwiring (is it needed?) is ripe for the taking... so it is.. only to be sold for spares or as a whole to unsuspecting people elsewhere..
Heath68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2015, 13:15   #2

Boat: 2001 Bavaria 37
Re: Dinghy Security - Thoughts please

Where I've cruised the most (Washington, British Columbia, Great Lakes, Maine) dinghy theft is not a problem at all. Quite the opposite is true: People go to great lengths to return found items: paddles, dinghies, spouses, dogs, etc. Only if I leave my boat & dinghy for several weeks would I consider locking it up. But I've no idea where you cruise of it it's an issue. If it's a problem just lock it up.
Jim Krause is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2015, 13:39   #3

Boat: Ocean Alexander, Ocean 44