Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-03-2017, 17:46   #1

Boat: Lagoon 450
US Immigration coming from Cuba...

I thought I would share my recent experience with US Immigration in Key West upon arriving from Cuba.

My boat is foreign flagged, but I am a US citizen and in 18 months since owning my boat this is my first time into US waters. The Immigration officer was professional and firm. He informed me as a US citizen I was in violation of US law for going to Cuba without US Coastguard permission which I was unaware of. I had sailed into Cuba from Grand Cayman and worked my way around to Havana before setting sail for Key West. He scared the crap out of me when he told me the fine was $5,000 per person per day. He did the quick math for me, 4 crew X $5,000 = $20,000 per day fine. Also, unbeknownst to me is the US Coastguard only grants 15 day permits, I was in Cuba for an entire month. I was about to surrender the title to my boat when he told me was only going to give me a warning, but would make a note in their records in case it happens again.

I do hold a dual citizenship and told him I entered Cuba on that passport, but he said that didn't matter since I presented him my US passport. As far as he was concerned I was an American. He told me the foreign flagged boat was OK, but I was not as a US citizen.

There is one issue I'm still confused about. Some of my crew flew into Havana and received US permission to enter Cuba from the airline by filling out a US tourist card. For some reason that did not matter. I suspect the airlines and US Coastguard have different requirements with the Coastguard being more strict.

Lessen learned!
sailingforfun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2017, 17:50   #2

Boat: Wildcat 35, Hobie 33
Re: US Immigration coming from Cuba...

At least you got off light.
belizesailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2017, 06:11   #3