Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-02-2012, 08:25   #1

Boat: Cheoy Lee Ketch 33'
Leaving the US

I am a resident of the United States. I will be selling my home and moving aboard my boat to begin an extensive cruise, probably not returning to the US. My boat is a US Coast Guard documented vessel but there is also a requirement to have the boat registered in my state of residence. Once I sell my home and move to the sea I will no longer have a US residence address. You cannot use a P.O. Box for registration purposes. Will I still need some kind of resgistration other than the US Coast uard Documented Vessel?
thesailorguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 08:52   #2

Boat: Manta 40 "Reach"
Re: Leaving the US

No. We have done the same thing and have not had any state registration for several years.

Mark

You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.
colemj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 08:53   #3

You should look up rules and standards for expatriating yourself. There are a lot of things (like voting, if you intend to do that) that require a state residency. You might want to look at a mail service like St Brendan's Isle that lets you maintain a non-PO Box address in the US, and they'll handle all your mail for you.

The state registration thing in addition to the federal documentation is a new one to me; I actually didn't think that was allowed. Regardless, plenty of states (including California) don't require registration for a documented vessel.
rebel heart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 08:53   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by colemj View Post
No. We have done the same thing and have not had any state registration for several years.

Mark
So you still have a state residence established? Vote absentee?
Old 02-02-2012, 09:00   #5
S/V rubber ducky

Boat: Hunter 410