Originally Posted by Ironhorse74
Sorry but you are incorrect there. If a Washington
resident purchases a used boat
they pay sales tax on the purchase price
. Does not matter where it comes from or if it has had sales tax paid on it before.
Waving at you from across the river in Vantuckey. Home of the Portland
Just had to go through this. In WA if you bought the boat someplace else and paid sales tax at the source, you don't owe it in WA. If you didn't, then you do. The fact that someone sometime paid tax doesn't matter.
Also, and this is surely becoming the case everything, the Coast Guard is now acting as a revenue agent for the State of WA. We're out a lot in the winter, and there is less for the Coasties to do, so we get boarded. The last time we got a ticket from the U.S. Coast Guard for failing to have our WA registration
on board. You only get the WA registration
by registering the boat, documented or otherwise and paying the sales tax or showing that you paid the sales tax before you moved the boat to WA from another jurisdiction.
The Coasties gave us 45 days to show evidence of registration, or pay a fine of $1,500. And the State of Washington
would have been notified. Also somewhat scary is that when I went in to take care of this, err, oversight, the woman at the county desk didn't know quite how to value a boat built in 1965 by a Norwegian firm she never heard of. So she called Olympia. The guy on the other end of the line was able to bring up our vessel by documentation
number and asked if we had returned from Canada
on x date. In other words, he had access to what seemed to be the beginning of an integrated information system that shared data from the Coast Guard, Customs
and Immigration and their own financial information. County and Port authorities are now beginning to require registration proof to use their facilities for mooring
So, I am guessing that unless you can figure out how not to be boarded by the Coast Guard for a safety inspection
, moor in a public facility, or cross borders, if your state wants you to pay sales tax on your vessel at some point you probably will.