Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-06-2012, 19:08   #1

Boat: Antares 44 catamaran
FCC license VHF SSB radios: confused about

I am the new owner of a used 44' sailing catamaran with VHF and SSB radios. There is also an EPIRB. The seller had a radio call sign and MMSI number which he gave to me but he also said that I have to apply to the FCC to get my own call sign and perhaps a new MMSI, although he was uncertain about the MMSI.

I am new to this. I am using the boat next week, will the radios still work? What is relationship between the FCC call sign and MMSI and the two radios.

When I go to the FCC Wireless Telecommunications Bureau at FCC: Wireless Telecommunications Bureau and apply for a new license the application asks me

Has this ship already been assigned a four (4) letter call sign (e.g. WXYZ) by the FCC"

It seems the answer is yes but the call sign I was given by the seller is WDC3276, not 4 letters. So I said no.

It then asks me after several pages:

Check each box that applies.

I have Radiotelegraph (2000-27500KHz) on my vessel and the FCC has not yet assigned a Morse working series to my vessel.

Note: SA licensees do not have the option to be issued a working series.

I have Digital Selective Calling (DSC) equipment and /or Radiotelegraph NB-DP and need a new 9 digit Maritime Mobile Service Identity (MMSI). Do not check this box if you already have been assigned a 9 digit MMSI by the FCC or have received a 9 digit MMSI by commissioning an INMARSAT B, C, or M terminals through COMSAT/Lockheed Martin.

Note: The single MMSI assigned by the FCC or issued by COMSAT/Lockheed Martin or Stratos should be used with all DSC radio equipment and INMARSAT B, C, or M terminals on board your vessel.

MMSI Number (if already assigned)