Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-12-2017, 15:01   #46

Boat: Malö 40H
Re: Do I really need a license that is valid for the countries I visit?

Quote:
Originally Posted by newhaul View Post
I am a licensed ham operator so licensing is covered with respect to radios.
Actually...

At least in Germany this is not the case. This was actually a question in the test for the VHF radio operator license (at least for the inland waters radio certificate) .. an amateur radio license doesn't entitle you to operate a ship radio station in Germany. I don't know about elsewhere in Europe but not unlikely that this is also the case I would guess.

Now please don't start shooting
crankysailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2017, 15:57   #47
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: 1968 Islander bahama 24 hull 182, 1963 columbia 29 defender. hull # 60

Quote:
Originally Posted by crankysailor View Post
Actually...

At least in Germany this is not the case. This was actually a question in the test for the VHF radio operator license (at least for the inland waters radio certificate) .. an amateur radio license doesn't entitle you to operate a ship radio station in Germany. I don't know about elsewhere in Europe but not unlikely that this is also the case I would guess.

Now please don't start shooting
no problem also I rather doubt I would be sailing in Germany . Possibly the med but still not likely I'm a Pacific sailor
Old 10-12-2017, 17:41   #48

Boat: Jon Sayer 1-off 46 ft fract rig sloop strip plank in W Red Cedar

IIRC, Yanks going to foreign waters need both a Station license and an Operators license to be legal. In 31 years cruising in the Pacific, we've never been asked for either.

Jim
Old 10-12-2017, 18:54   #49
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Island Packet 38

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Cate View Post