Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-12-2014, 08:01   #31

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Location: Denmark (Winter), Helsinki (Summer); Cruising the Baltic Sea this year!
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54
Re: Collision course, radio and procedures

Quote:
Originally Posted by SailRedemption View Post
Agreed, I'm a professional mariner as well. Never heard of "wafi"i usually just alter course and mumble to myself or vent to whoever is on the bridge with me at the time at how ignorant and reckless small boat "skippers"(I use this word as these types of people don't deserve the title, Captain, as they are a bunch of jackwagons who don't take the time to actually learn before they jump on the helm) are when it comes to encounters with commercial vessels. I have heard other mariners get vocal, especially with the shrimp vessels who never respond on 16 or much less monitor it. I try to just give as much sea room as practical as to not completely change my course to another cardinal direction.

I plan on sailing to my vessel while it's offshore and see what my radar pickup is with and without the ball that came with my vessel. Well, that and sailing next to my crew with an adult beverage in hand!

- Ronnie...on the geaux

It's probably not necessary to point out to you that for being seen by commercial vessels, the killer app is AIS.

Having had it now for two years, I would never go to sea without it again. You will know from being on a commercial bridge that broadcasting AIS makes a "target", which might well be a false return, into a "vessel", with name, course, speed, and CPA calculated much more precisely than ARPA can do it.

It is so powerful that I can well imagine that boats not broadcasting AIS will increasingly be ignored -- it's just human nature.