Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-03-2013, 17:33   #1

Boat: Antares 44 catamaran
bahamas cruising permit question

This is my first time cruising in the Bahamas. I (my boat) was given a 3 month cruising permit when I entered in the Abacos. After 1.5 months, I flew back to the states and returned by plane at 3.5 months after my permit started. During this time I left my boat in a marina in Marsh Harbour. When I entered the Bahamas the second time by plane I indicated that I was staying on a boat and the name of the boat. Now I am cruising for 2 weeks and will go back by plane to the US and return in early May for a month of cruising. Then I will put my boat on the hard in Marsh Harbour for 5 months during hurricane season. At the end of October I will return and cruise with the same routine until the next June.

Question. What should I be doing with my permit? I haven't done anything yet.

Thanks in advance...
RickyEM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-2013, 19:11   #2

Boat: Marine Trader 34DC
Re: bahamas cruising permit question

Ricky, The Cruising Permit FOR THE BOAT is good for a year. After that you may be charged import fees for the boat if it's still there. Your Immigrations status expires after the 90 days and you must renew it to stay in the country legally. It's easy and free but your coming and going might affect that. Chuck

The Trawler Beach House
Voyages Of Sea Trek
AnchorageGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-2013, 20:12   #3

Boat: Beneteau 32.5