Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-05-2013, 11:42   #1

Boat: 1972 Morgan 35
Yard Fees

While asking about haul-out and yard fees at a local boat yard (the only local boatyard that allows an owner to their own work), I was aghast to learn that the fee for keeping my boat on the hard would be $1 per foot per day. For my Morgan 35, that's over $1000 per month!

The wetslip fees for the marina at that yard are $8 per foot per month. $280 per month with power and water available, and boat ready to go versus $1050 to have it in the yard.

That price includes nothing. Haul out is extra ($10 per ft), mast stepping/unstepping is extra (billed for actual labor, average $300).

I'm very new to this, but my land logic tells me the premium should be placed on the convenience of having the boat in the water, not the other way around. Is this the norm around the country, do yard fees exceed slip fees by three to four times, or am I looking at a crook?
nolandinsight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 11:52   #2

Boat: Able 50
Re: Yard Fees

My last two stints in a yard cost $10 and $9/foot/month including haulout, wash, stands and launch.

When I launch next week the charge will rise to $18/foot/month plus electricity.
savoir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 11:55   #3

Ok, now that sounds reasonable.
Old 11-05-2013, 11:59   #4

Boat: Finnsailer 38