Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-09-2017, 21:47   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2017
Boat: Catalina 38 1980
Posts: 1
Images: 5
Wires for depth finder cut

New boat owner. Novice and trying to learn.

Depth finder was not working so i wanted to find the reason.

Found the wires and they were cut.

Sent a message to the original owner and have not gotten a response.

anyone know a reason for this to have been done?
__________________

__________________
Journeyofblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2017, 22:15   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: nowra nsw australia
Boat: 32 contessa
Posts: 36
Re: wires for depth finder cut

i think most people that dont understand shieled wires think
"just cut and then its a smaller hole to drill "
I have found this a few times and have repaired by solder and foil shielding the joins ,, then shrink cover the lot with some Jelly insulation ,
Its not perfect but will work ,,, what modle sounder , someone may have a spare cheap , i have purchased many boats with the head unit missing and have a large box of transducers ,
__________________

__________________
Robert Tilbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2017, 03:35   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
GordMay's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 31,392
Images: 240
Re: wires for depth finder cut

Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, Journey.
PO wanted to replace sender?
__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2017, 04:46   #4
Registered User
 
rwidman's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: North Charleston, SC
Boat: Camano Troll
Posts: 4,536
Re: wires for depth finder cut

Quote:
Originally Posted by Journeyofblue View Post
New boat owner. Novice and trying to learn.

Depth finder was not working so i wanted to find the reason.

Found the wires and they were cut.

Sent a message to the original owner and have not gotten a response.

anyone know a reason for this to have been done?
Only the person who cut the wires would know why he/she cut them.

If I was in your situation, my first inclination would be to connect them back together and see if this fixes the problem. You don't have anything to lose by doing this.

I would have thought your surveyor would have caught this and you could have talked about it with the seller before you bought the boat.
__________________
Ron
HIGH COTTON
Sent from my laptop using Windows 7
rwidman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2017, 08:52   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: East shore Mobile Bay AL
Boat: ODAY 28
Posts: 357
Re: wires for depth finder cut


I have spliced several boats with wires from sounders that have been cut, or damaged with good success.
__________________
boeing1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2017, 09:24   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 21
Re: wires for depth finder cut

Personally, it's not recommended to splice shielded coax cable (if that's what is cut). Though, the unit may work, after splicing, the accuracy of the depth finder may be compromised because these cables generally have a specific length and impedance that the manufacturer has built into the unit. Check with the manufacturer for a replacement and/or recommendations.
__________________
P3sailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2017, 09:31   #7
Moderator
 
Pete7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Solent, England
Boat: Moody 31
Posts: 8,232
Images: 14
Re: wires for depth finder cut

Quote:
Originally Posted by P3sailor View Post
Check with the manufacturer for a replacement and/or recommendations.
Or as Rwidman suggests, solder them back together and see what happens, nothing to loose.

Pete
__________________
Moody 31 - April Lass
Pete7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2017, 09:35   #8
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 17,148
Re: wires for depth finder cut

Maybe it is an older transducer. Look around maybe the instrument is connected to another, newer sensor elsewhere.

Cheers,
b.
__________________
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2017, 11:28   #9
Registered User
 
rwidman's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: North Charleston, SC
Boat: Camano Troll
Posts: 4,536
Re: wires for depth finder cut

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete7 View Post
Or as Rwidman suggests, solder them back together and see what happens, nothing to loose.

Pete
You don't even have to solder them to test the system. Twist them together (not all together, red to red, green to green, shield to shield, etc.) and see if this makes it work.

If it works, you can solder and insulate, use crimp connectors or a terminal strip, your choice.
__________________
Ron
HIGH COTTON
Sent from my laptop using Windows 7
rwidman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2017, 11:31   #10
Registered User
 
rwidman's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: North Charleston, SC
Boat: Camano Troll
Posts: 4,536
Re: wires for depth finder cut

Quote:
Originally Posted by barnakiel View Post
Maybe it is an older transducer. Look around maybe the instrument is connected to another, newer sensor elsewhere.

Cheers,
b.
I don't usually do this, but it's not uncommon for people to abandon wires and leave them in place. Unless you buy the boat from the factory, there's no telling what someone might have done to it before you got it.
__________________
Ron
HIGH COTTON
Sent from my laptop using Windows 7
rwidman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2017, 11:48   #11
Registered User
 
Peregrine1983's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Boat: 1983 Pearson 424 Ketch
Posts: 275
Re: wires for depth finder cut

Does the depth display power up? It would help to clarify if it's the wire to the transducer or the power wires from the panel.
__________________
The Boat List
www.boatlist.org
Peregrine1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2017, 14:03   #12
Registered User
 
Island Time O25's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1,974
Re: wires for depth finder cut

Quote:
Originally Posted by boeing1 View Post

I have spliced several boats with wires from sounders that have been cut, or damaged with good success.
Same here. My last connection was splicing an old Lowrance/Eagle depthfinder to more recent Airmar transducer. The only issue is the intermittent water temp. readings but the depth readings are fine. I was told by a marine pro that most manufacturers use only 2 or 3 standards and even those are often interchangeable. But of course they try to make the consumers believe that each transducer has brand specific specs and will not work with other brands. Not true for the most part.
__________________
Island Time O25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2017, 14:21   #13
Senior Cruiser
 
Cheechako's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Skagit City, WA
Posts: 19,157
Re: wires for depth finder cut

It's a common thing to do by an electronics guy when a unit has gone bad. Maybe that applies here.?
or... Possibly it went bad and the owner was going to remove it and wanted to use the old wire to pull a new one thru with.
Either way it hints the unit is defunct.
__________________
"I spent most of my money on Booze, Broads and Boats. The rest I wasted" - Elmore Leonard











Cheechako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2017, 15:26   #14
Registered User

Join Date: May 2013
Location: waterford, ny
Boat: hunter 27
Posts: 38
Re: wires for depth finder cut

Solder splice is very good option, braiding shield and heat shrink. I have done this with success. Other option is buy a pair of coax connectors male and female and install them.
__________________
raybobsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2017, 16:00   #15
Senior Cruiser
 
Cheechako's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Skagit City, WA
Posts: 19,157
Re: Wires for depth finder cut

I just dont see a problem with splicing, unless the instrument relies on a given resistance or capacitance in the cable. A couple of my boats had gang connectors to join cables to no apparent problem. A coax can even be done with the shield re wrapped if necessary.
__________________

__________________
"I spent most of my money on Booze, Broads and Boats. The rest I wasted" - Elmore Leonard











Cheechako is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
depth

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale: finder hooks yacht finder holders amphibious1 Classifieds Archive 0 10-06-2012 01:33
To Cut or Not to Cut - Underseat Cabinets Jetexas Monohull Sailboats 9 25-02-2012 19:06
Can you Identify this Depth Finder Display? cfoxcvg Marine Electronics 1 26-03-2010 09:13
Complete newbie needs depth finder help pikowill Product or Service Reviews & Evaluations 5 22-12-2008 10:04
Depth Finder ozarkmom43 Marine Electronics 7 13-06-2008 06:09



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:43.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.