Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Construction, Maintenance & Refit
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 28-05-2010, 22:38   #121

Boat: Robertson 950
Prop paint

Hi all, I realise that thisis a late thread but for the prop, I have been using PropSpeed for 2-3 years and so long as you are using your boat regulary ( at least every 2-3 weeks) it works very well.
Be careful if the yard is using what they have leftover from the last job as once the can is opened, I believe that there is a short shelf life for the product. basically it is very stick like a thick grease.
I dive on my boat every month with a mask and snorket and usually just sponge the hull so i have preferref hard antfouls. We cannot get Trinidad paint in AUS and the best paint I have used whihc was Altex 10 was removed from the market. If anyone has got great results with a hard antifoul in waters from 16-23 Celcius, Please let me know
Snorkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2010, 02:17   #122
Ram

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Cat in the med & Trawler in Florida
What about Jotun paint for ships anyone use this? Im thing about getting some- its said it lasts 60-90 months ??
Ram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2010, 15:55   #123
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Now boatless :-(
I think the rescue boats at our club that run folks out to their moorings use Jotun. It seems to last no better or worse than other paints - About 18 months in our very fertile waters.

One data point only YMMV.
Ex-Calif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2010, 19:22   #124

Boat: Robertson 950