Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-10-2019, 10:29   #1

Boat: Beneteau First 305
What are your favorite drill bits?

I have been using dewalt titanium for tye last 6-7 years and have been using it on wood and fiberglass with great results. The coating on them has held up pretty well over the years despite the salty humid air inside the boat. I would be curious to hear about favorite drill bits you guys have on the boat.

hd002e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2019, 10:35   #2

Re: What are your favorite drill bits?

Wood, fiberglass, aluminum, most bronzes, all pretty easy to drill. Stainless steel on the other hand is a PITA.

I use cobalt drills for that. I also keep a "Drill Doctor" sharpener on board for those times when we are far away from a good source of anything. Works great.

billknny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2019, 10:46   #3

I have found four of those easy materials any drillbit works. In fact, I have found even for metal any drillbit works. It’s all how you use it.

Taken care to go slowly and keep the temperature down is the key to having the drill bit last. That’s much harder when you are drilling metal. Plenty of lubricating oil and a very slow speed helps with that.
Chotu is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2019, 10:53   #4
Do… or do not

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Sundeer 64

The most important thing with drilling stainless steel is that the bit keeps advancing and chips keep coming off. When that rule is not conformed to, the steel hardens so quick that it’ll eat your bit no matter how good it is.
s/v Jedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2019, 10:54   #5

Boat: Luders 33 - hull 23

My favorite bits are the sharp ones, I love them.