Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-03-2019, 16:32   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Nanaimo, BC
Boat: Sceptre 36
Posts: 383
Transducer Location

About to install all new instruments. Currently boat has speed transducer foreward of the keel, I intend to put new one in the same location. Aft of that is an in-hull depth. New instrument package says that depth aft of speed causes problems from turbulence. Current setup also has 2 transducers to starboard of the mast. Could I use one of those for depth even though it is beside the keel? Remove and fill the other? All new transducers looking to use existing holes in the hull.
__________________

Rex Delay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2019, 20:53   #2
Registered User
 
Orion Jim's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Noank, Ct. USA
Boat: Cape Dory 31
Posts: 1,444
Images: 7
Re: Transducer Location

How about something like the Airmar DST800 depth, speed, temp. Do away with some of those hull penetrations.
__________________

Orion Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2019, 21:17   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Nanaimo, BC
Boat: Sceptre 36
Posts: 383
Re: Transducer Location

The holes are already there. Question is if putting the depth transducer beside the fin keel would reduce it's function.
Rex Delay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2019, 23:13   #4
Registered User

Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 39
Re: Transducer Location

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rex Delay View Post
About to install all new instruments. Currently boat has speed transducer foreward of the keel, I intend to put new one in the same location. Aft of that is an in-hull depth. New instrument package says that depth aft of speed causes problems from turbulence. Current setup also has 2 transducers to starboard of the mast. Could I use one of those for depth even though it is beside the keel? Remove and fill the other? All new transducers looking to use existing holes in the hull.
I had the depth transducer installed in front of the speed transducer and the outcome was that the speed measurement became unlinear. When calibrating the instrument at 6 knots it showed (compared with the GPS) more than half a knot wrong at 3 knots. And if I calibrated the instrument at a lower speed the inaccuracy at higher speeds became a problem. The only rational explanation for this is that the depth transducer in front created turbulence which had an effect on the speed measurement. Solved the situation by replacing the depth sensor with a DST800 and putting a plug into the old speed transducer hole.
ChrisseH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2019, 05:28   #5
Senior Cruiser
 
GordMay's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 34,019
Images: 240
Re: Transducer Location

Quote:
Originally Posted by Orion Jim View Post
How about something like the Airmar DST800 depth, speed, temp. Do away with (by plugging) some of those hull penetrations.
Clean water flow over the face of the transducer is critical to the proper operation of the system, and is the single most important parameter in selecting a mounting location. When mounting alongside of a keel, it should be far enough away from the keel, so that the keel will not be detected within the transducer’s beam angle.
__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2019, 10:05   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Nanaimo, BC
Boat: Sceptre 36
Posts: 383
Re: Transducer Location

"Clean water flow over the face of the transducer is critical to the proper operation of the system, and is the single most important parameter in selecting a mounting location. When mounting alongside of a keel, it should be far enough away from the keel, so that the keel will not be detected within the transducer’s beam angle."

Good point. Perhaps put the depth in the bow and speed beside the keel?
Rex Delay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2019, 10:22   #7
Senior Cruiser
 
Sailmonkey's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Houston
Boat: '76 Allied Seawind II, 32'
Posts: 6,794
Re: Transducer Location

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rex Delay View Post
"Clean water flow over the face of the transducer is critical to the proper operation of the system, and is the single most important parameter in selecting a mounting location. When mounting alongside of a keel, it should be far enough away from the keel, so that the keel will not be detected within the transducer’s beam angle."



Good point. Perhaps put the depth in the bow and speed beside the keel?


That would be my choice
Sailmonkey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2019, 12:56   #8
Registered User

Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 39
Re: Transducer Location

If possible, the best location for the speed transducer is on the boat's center line at least 1 meter in front of the keel. Here the flow is still laminar and you will avoid getting different readings on different tacks. Further forward will (depending on the boat size) increase the risk for getting the transducer in rough seas above the water. And depending on the hull shape the depth transducer could then be installed either just abaft the speed transducer or a bit to the side, but still in front of the keel.
ChrisseH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2019, 17:52   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Nanaimo, BC
Boat: Sceptre 36
Posts: 383
Re: Transducer Location

This was brought up by the package I got from Raymarine which stated "do not put the depth transducer aft of the speed transducer"
Rex Delay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2019, 20:38   #10
Registered User

Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 39
Re: Transducer Location

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rex Delay View Post
This was brought up by the package I got from Raymarine which stated "do not put the depth transducer aft of the speed transducer"
Exactly like that the yacht manufacturer had installed the transducers of my Raymarine Tridata setup when my yachy was delivered as new in 2007. But as mentioned this resulted (at least in my case) in a non-linear speed measurement. Did not test the other way around, but my gut feeling is that the ultrasonic echo sounding is less sensitive to turbulence. Anyways, my Airmar Triducer DST800 has worked well for both speed and depth since 2012. Please note that I ripped off also the Raymarine Tridats display as it no longer was compatible with the DST800. Instead I today use a PC based system where all NMEA sensors are connected through a ShipModul multiplexer to the PC running OpenCPN and SeaMODE Speed Lab.
__________________

ChrisseH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
400: Wind vane / transducer location on the Lagoon 400S2, test, setup & how to fix it CatNewBee Lagoon Catamarans 3 25-06-2018 12:25
Depth transducer location Bigjim Marine Electronics 19 17-05-2018 08:15
A Transducer is a Transducer, Correct? Herbseesmoore Marine Electronics 3 22-06-2013 05:23
Want To Buy: Raymarine Rotary Rudder Transducer and Fluxgate Transducer Kristian Classifieds Archive 0 22-02-2010 03:09



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 18:55.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.