Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-09-2010, 12:06   #1

Steel Boatbuilding

Hi all,
Im a newbie here and hope to find some joy posting here since rudeness is not tolerated amongst members and strictly applied.

I had built steel boats for well over 30 years and in later stages GRP as well, but are now finally retired and have time to do things I always wanted to do.
My latest "project" was 30 years in the making and now well under way, building myself a Lotus 7 replica car from scratch - no kits for me, I like to keep it real

Reason for my first post after all the ramble; I had seen over the years that there are many people out there looking for info on building steel boats and since most books are out dated on the subject, few if any cover radius or round bilge for instance, I had decided to create a web page based on my experience in the field where advise is freely available to those in the want.

If I may - Steel Boatbuilder's Web Page: Steel Boatbuilding | Steel Boatbuilding

I hope some of your members would gain some information from this.
Just one link is still partly completed and yours truly still has to upload about 150 more picture thumbnails to complete that, otherwise the page is well worth a visit for those interested in steel boats.

Thanks
Wynand
Wynand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2010, 12:31   #2

Boat: 50' steel canal and river cruiser
Hi and welcome to CF, where nasty sly comments are not permitted and we are all one big happy family.
So, feel free to discuss the merits of steel design and construction.

As for Lotus, did you know its an acronym for

Loads Of Trouble Usually Serious
Old 10-09-2010, 14:18   #3
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: CyberYacht 43
Good to have some extra expertise...