Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-11-2009, 03:37   #16
Certifiable Refitter/Senior Wannbe
 
Wotname's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: South of 43 S, Australia
Boat: Van DeStat Super Dogger 31'
Posts: 7,333
Just do it and ask your rellies to invite us all to the wake. Quite a few of my mates have tried it and I really enjoyed their wakes. Don't listen to the naysayers, they are no fun at all, just go with the flow.

And be sure take internet advice seriously
__________________

__________________
All men dream: but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangereous men, for they may act their dreams with open eyes, to make it possible. T.E. Lawrence
Wotname is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2009, 06:09   #17
Registered User
 
Philsboat's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Brockville,Ont.
Boat: Mirage 25 "Garfield"
Posts: 137
Buy a stepdown transformer from an electrical supply distributor of sufficient wattage to handle your largest tool.Multiply amperage of tool x voltage (110) to get wattage.Add 20% so you aren't running the transformer at max.
It's really hard to collect all the smoke and get it back into the tool after you've fried it.

Phil
__________________

__________________
Philsboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2009, 06:23   #18
Registered User
 
sailvayu's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Fort Myers FL
Boat: Irwin 40
Posts: 878
I did this once by mistake. Someone had wired a 120 VAC 15 AMP outlet as 240 VAC! I plugged in my router not knowing and it ran really fast and before I could figure out what was happening it toasted. The Marina paid for the repair, guess it was good I found it before someone plugged their whole boat in.

So simply put, do not do it!

And the others are right it is down right dangerous!



Wayne Canning AMS
projectboatzen.com
__________________
sailvayu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2009, 10:49   #19
Senior Cruiser
 
osirissail's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: A real life Zombie from FL
Boat: Gulfstar 53 - Osiris
Posts: 5,416
Images: 2
You can get 110/220 transformers in all the different wattage sizes in all the islands quite easily. The locals in the eastern Caribbean have European 220VAC 50Hz electricity but like to use the cheaper USA electric and electronics rather than the more expensive European stuff. So they all use the transformers to convert. The transformers can convert 110 to 220 or 220 to 110.
- - However the frequency does not change. 220VAC 50 hz(cycle) converts to 110 VAC 50 Hz(cycle). For heating equipment and variable speed power tools this is not a major problem although the maximum speed could be 13% lower - most fan speeds are controlled by the Hz not the voltage.
- - However, sensitive equipment that relies on Hz(frequency for timing like microwave ovens, certain electronic equipment - compressors, fans, test instruments will not function on 50 Hz power. It is easy to determine if that is the case by simply looking at the "label" on the equipment where the Voltage and Freq requirements are listed. Most new equipment is built "multi-voltage, multi Freq" to avoid having to have two different factories in China making the equipment. Older ferro-R battery chargers will not operate on the wrong frequency.
- - So you do not need to buy new power tools just get a proper size voltage transformer.
__________________
osirissail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2011, 07:30   #20
Senior Cruiser
 
mikereed100's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Santa Barbara
Boat: 46' custom cat
Posts: 1,573
Images: 2
Re: Running 110vac Tools on 220vac

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikereed100 View Post
I need you all to stop me before I try this. I know in my heart of heart what will happen if you plug a 110v power tool into 220v, but my reptilian brain keeps telling me the motor will just spin faster, or in the case of a heat gun, it won't heat up as well.
So what do you think, have I been watching too much Mythbusters? Answers involving practical experience will be more entertaining and will be graded higher than those explaining electromagnetic theory.

Mike
In answer to my own question, I have had ample opportunity to screw up and have taken full advantage during our recent haulout. The first episode involved plugging my 110v battery charger for power tools into 220. It made a satisfying "pop" then let all the smoke out. A few days later I inadvertently plugged my 220v drill into the 110v converter. It predictably ran about 1/2 as fast but no harm done. Since then I have used this feature on purpose to drive screws with it (as my battery drill is now useless without the charger). Next, I ran my 110v chop saw on 220v all afternoon and didn't realize it until I was putting it away at the end of the day. Again, no harm done, but I only ran it for a couple of seconds at a time.

Seems that electronics fare poorly, but motors are a lot more tolerant of different voltages. I should mention that all my 110 plugs are marked with red tape and 220v with blue to avoid confusion, but after a while this stuff becomes invisible leaving me free to plug into whatever I want.

Mike
__________________
mikereed100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2011, 07:59   #21
Registered User
 
sailvayu's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Fort Myers FL
Boat: Irwin 40
Posts: 878
Re: Running 110vac Tools on 220vac

Famous last words
"Hey y'all look what I can do!"

And mike they make plugs so that you cannot mix them up, makes me wonder how anyone can mix things up? Guess you could think about the cost of correct plugs vers burned up charges ect!
__________________
Capt. Wayne Canning, AMS
www.projectboat.info
http://sailvayu.com/
sailvayu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2011, 09:03   #22
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Santa Cruz
Boat: Boatless Again
Posts: 4,334
Re: Running 110vac Tools on 220vac

Quote:
Originally Posted by sailvayu View Post
Famous last words
"Hey y'all look what I can do!"

And mike they make plugs so that you cannot mix them up, makes me wonder how anyone can mix things up? Guess you could think about the cost of correct plugs vers burned up charges ect!
In Thailand, the 220v outlets use the American style 110v plugs--I hid all my power tools, but the workers borrowed my vacuum...it survived a 2 second burst of 220v.
__________________
donradcliffe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2011, 09:05   #23
CF Adviser
Moderator Emeritus
 
Hud3's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Virginia
Boat: Island Packet 380, now sold
Posts: 8,929
Images: 49
Re: Running 110vac Tools on 220vac

Mike,

I'm no electrical genius, but won't running a 220 V motor at 110V draw twice the current and risk burning up the windings?
__________________
Hud
Hud3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2011, 09:58   #24
Senior Cruiser
 
Lancerbye's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ladysmith,BC, Vancouver Island , Canada
Boat: Lancer 44 Motorsailer
Posts: 1,758
Images: 32
Re: Running 110vac Tools on 220vac

Depending where you are in the world electrical supply sources can cause smoking tools. In North America we have a standard of power, recepticles and plugs that we expect to find in other parts of the world. Forget that idea. In the Middle East they have 240vac 50hz and use the heavy British style plugs as well as the dual round pin European or Japanese type plugs. The receptacles in many places use a configuration that allows you to plug in both as well as a 2 prong NA style plug. In the Phillipines the power is supposed to be 220vac 60hz (can range anywhere from 180vac to 250vac), the plugs found on there tools can be, either two flat pins like our isolated tools or two round pins like the ones used in Japan. It makes it very easy to plug the wrong voltage tool in a recepticle and experience a rather impressive spark and smoke show. This is something everyone should experience at least once. It also helps the local economy.
__________________
The basis of accomplishment is in never quitting
Mengzi Meng-tse
Lancerbye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2011, 17:44   #25
Senior Cruiser
 
mikereed100's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Santa Barbara
Boat: 46' custom cat
Posts: 1,573
Images: 2
Re: Running 110vac Tools on 220vac

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hud3 View Post
Mike,

I'm no electrical genius, but won't running a 220 V motor at 110V draw twice the current and risk burning up the windings?
Hud,

Good point. Kinda wished I'd thought of that before. I'm no electrical genius either (see previous posts for confimation) but it seems to me that you would only draw twice the current with 110v if you were able to achieve the same rpms as 220v? As I was only driving screws the drill was on for just a second or 2 at a time. Probably saved me.

Mike
__________________
mikereed100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2011, 18:27   #26
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Milton Florida & Cervignano del Fruili, It.
Boat: 1985 Catalac 10Meter Serendipity, 1998 Nimble Wanderer "PJS"
Posts: 59
Send a message via Skype™ to jannpage
Re: Running 110vac Tools on 220vac

If you need to run 110V items on 220V first check if they are built to do so. . Most of my computor stuff is dual voltage automatically. Just have to have adapter plugs.
But most applieances that have motors or generate heat are built for pretty specific voltage and frequency. Most European stuff is 220 V , 50 cycle. While a transformer will easily convert the voltage to 110, it will still be 50 cycle and American motors with run much slower and not develope full power and tend to run a little hotter. Hovever most had tools will work OK. I keep a boat in northern Italy. My refer is designed to run on 110V 60 Cyle. It is an absorbtion unit that uses the AC to heat the coolent. Using a transformer results in less heat and less cooling so my ice cream is soft. When I want it real cold I use and inverter on the batteries which are being charged by the 220V 50Cycle. I use the inverter to power most of my 110V hand tools. MOst of my electronics are dual voltage (or more). NOw in the US., my 220 is 60 cyle. It is easy to split the circuit and run 2 100V 50cucle circuits.

I hope that helps.
__________________

__________________
jannpage is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
220vac to 110vac Steve W Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 5 30-09-2009 06:09
For Sale: Euronova 220vac Washing Machine Meck Classifieds Archive 5 28-09-2009 21:08
220vac vs 110vac First Mate Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 21 23-08-2009 10:13
110vac to 12vdc Refer Conversion motion30 Plumbing Systems and Fixtures 1 28-07-2009 11:46
Inverter 110vac for Hot Water? svDragonfly Plumbing Systems and Fixtures 5 27-07-2009 15:11



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 17:40.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.