Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Old 19-04-2011, 07:33   #1

Boat: The one in my dreams is all I have for now.
Restoration

Just wanted to get some different viewpoints on this. I am looking to purchase a 30' older model boat and restore it over a year or so. No major repairs just cosmetic stuff like gutting the cabin and new paint/gel coat, etc; so something already seaworthy. I am finding boats like this between $1-5K some (most) with good lines, mast, sails, etc but just need some TLC. This would be my first boat so I just wanted to make it to my specs. I was talking to a guy the other day and he seemed really adamant that if I were to get one for that cheap I would end up putting another 15K into it and would be better off just spending the 20K and get one that is ready to go. Now I am a full time graduate student in South Florida so I do not have the disposable income to do that right now and I really like the idea or restoring a boat; I have done this with cars and get a great satisfaction out of it. However I also do not have 15K to put into restoration. I was just wondering if anyone had any insight into this? In your opinion would it cost that much, was he correct? The boats I have looked at were said to be seaworthy as is. Thanks.

Old 19-04-2011, 07:45   #2

Boat: Tanzer 26, Walk22
Re: Restoration

Go for it! Buy what you can afford, many people on here will tell you not to , but if you can get something you can use a bit, and get experience fixing stuff, then why not. Later on when you have more cash you can upgrade. And think of all the experience you will have.

Old 19-04-2011, 07:59   #3

Boat: Gulfstar, Mark II Ketch, 43'

Just remember it will probably cost twice as much and take twice as lonf. But go for if you want to do it.
Welcome Aboard and enjoy CF.
Unicorn Dreams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2011, 08:00   #4
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Pearson 422